Friends of the West End Park

Historic West End*Atlanta*GA

TALKIN’ TULIPS AND SPRING FLOWERS in the FALL October 8, 2009

Filed under: Handmade/DIY — WEsprouts @ 2:01 am
Tags: , , , , ,

DSC04525

Last year, I planted tulips and daffodils for the first time in my life. I planted a couple of bulbs along our main entrance and I told myself not to be disappointed if they didn’t grow. Initially, I did worry (just a little) that squirrels would dig out my bulbs and eat them. Soon the winter  months came and my focus shifted. I worked on indoor projects and hosted out-of-state family for the holidays.

Before I knew it, spring came and I began to see my bulbs sprout. I was as excited as my three year old. It was wonderful to see the tulips and daffodils grow! Truthfully, it was so easy I was shocked so if you want to treat yourself to a beautiful flower garden next spring…think now!

The bulbs should go in the ground before the first frost (which in Atlanta it is usually around mid November-last year’s date was November 11, 2008) but there were years when the first freeze was in December.

This is the perfect time to order flower bulbs, below is a table with other bulb flowers that may provide new and interesting choices. Enjoy your fall!

Other bulb and bulb like plants include:


Iris Plant on the surface
Crocus Plant 2 to 3 inches deep
Begonia Plant 2 to 3 inches deep
Lilies Plant 2 to 3 inches deep
Ranunculus Plant 2 to 3 inches deep
Gladioli Plant 3 to 4 inches deep
Daffodils Plant 3 to 4 inches deep
Dahlias Plant 3 to 4 inches deep
Tulips Plant 4 to 6 inches deep
Hyacinths Plant 6 to 8 inches deep
 

Leave a Reply

