Friends of the West End Park

Historic West End*Atlanta*GA

Choosing Paint Colors… August 8, 2009

Filed under: Handmade/DIY — WEsprouts @ 6:43 am
Tags: , ,

Most of us living in the West End are either painting or will have to paint soon (or just finished painting) so for this post I thought it would be interesting to share some of my research-I’m trying to find a new color for my dining room.

When I lived in NY, I had  either a very neutral space or a courageous + colorful apartment. In the past, I’ve tried beige, all-white, hot pink, orange, mustard the list goes on.  However, now that Im looking at paint colors again, I’m trying to find something that will balance my love for vivid colors with my need for a color that provides a good back drop canvass and is adaptable to my many different decorating phases. While I want something that is a little more grown-up, I also don’t want to fall into the ‘all white/neutral’ color scheme. I don’t want to play it safe just because it’s easy.

So, I’m looking at blues and greens. I want something that is neutral and provides many possibilities but isn’t boring. I spent 1.5 hours at the paint store comparing different shades. I’ve looked at different inspiration rooms online and I just can’t make up my mine. Please, email me  if you have any color suggestions.

I am making some progress, I think I prefer blue. I thought some of you would appreciate not replicating the research so I’ve decided to share some of the inspiration pictures. I’ll keep you posted.

nice.

nice.

from bhg-cute.

from bhg-cute.

Many of the blue dining rooms I find are traditional + look upscale. I like more of an eclectic/mix but there some inspiration to be found in this room from the Lansdowne House, 18th century (1765–68)

Many of the blue dining rooms I find are traditional + look upscale. I like more of an eclectic/mix but there some inspiration to be found in this room from the Lansdowne House, 18th century (1765–68)

Blue_dining_room_fear

 

Leave a Reply

