Friends of the West End Park

Historic West End*Atlanta*GA

REUSE PAPER July 12, 2009

Filed under: Handmade/DIY — WEsprouts @ 8:13 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m always impressed to see how communities (w/ less resources) create art. Growing up in New York, Venezuela and Puerto Rico-I always saw artists who were super creative and would come up w/ amazing projects w/o spending a bunch of money at ‘fancy’ art stores. As we all know (by now), the U.S. uses an absurd amount of paper. Why not recycle? Here are some projects we are working on…

How much fun would it be to do a paper-mache workshop at the park? Maybe-in the fall when things cool down.

DSCF0365

I'm shaping a skull mold to make paper-mache skulls. The bird looking pieces (to the left) are for masks.

My molds are ready, we'll see how they work. I have a feeling some of the details such as the nose may need to be deeper so the paper can set. I'll let you know how it goes...stay tuned!

My molds are ready, we'll see how they work. I have a feeling some of the details such as the nose may need to be deeper so the paper can set. I'll let you know how it goes...stay tuned!

 

Leave a Reply

